Tag Archives: news

Naxos Music Library and Naxos Jazz audio now in CLIO

Streaming audio content available on Naxos Music Library and Naxos Jazz is now indexed in CLIO! Over 4,500 records from Naxos Music Library and 1,500 records from Naxos Jazz have been added. This means that when you are searching CLIO, any available Naxos streaming audio content which matches your search will come up, along with the usual results for CDs and LPs held by the Libraries.

The CLIO records include contents, performers, track information, etc. To access the audio, click on the link in the CLIO record which says “Online Link: Naxos Music Library streaming audio”. This will take you to the Naxos record, where you can select the particular track(s) you wish to hear.

If you’re curious about browsing the collection, here’s one way:

  • In CLIO, choose search type = “Keyword”
  • To browse Naxos Music Library content, enter keyword “965naxos”
  • To browse Naxos Jazz content, enter keyword “965naxosjazz”

If you don’t want to have to remember these keywords, you can also just do a keyword search using “naxos” and then add “jazz” or whatever other search terms you like (artists, performers, labels, etc).

For example: keyword = naxos jazz charlie parker

Note that this will also pull up any physical Naxos CDs the library holds that match your search. Streaming audio content is easily distinguishable from CDs by the “ERESOURCES” call number.

Lastly, please note the variety of audio player options available on the Naxos site. If you are experiencing playback problems with one player, try one of the other options. If problems persist, please let us know at music@libraries.cul.columbia.edu.

Please have a listen, and let us know if you have any questions, comments, or problems.

CLIO affected by systems work, 1/14 – 1/16

Some necessary upgrades to the Libraries’ software are scheduled for Wednesday, Jan. 14th through Friday, Jan. 16th. Patrons will be able to check out materials as usual, but there will be some impact on CLIO, and in using any CLIO functions which require login using your UNI.

These services will not be available during this work:

  • “My Library Account” in CLIO
  • Renewals (in-person or online)
  • Borrow Direct
  • Saving to CLIO Bookbag
  • Any other CLIO service requiring login with your UNI

These services will not be affected:

  • Standard Inter-Library Loan
  • Offsite requests
  • Other non-CLIO resources such as electronic databases and journals

Please note: CLIO will not be updated in real time during this work. This means, for example, that an item you’ve returned may still be listed in CLIO as “checked out” until this work is completed. If you notice any problems after the work has been completed, please contact us (music@libraries.cul.columbia.edu or 212-854-4711).

New Mozart sketch discovered

A one-page sketch by Mozart for a Mass has been discovered in a library in Nantes, France. More details are available here, from the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum, Salzburg (once on the page, click on “English” and then on “News” for the full story).

Columbia Libraries launches re-designed Academic Commons

Columbia Libraries has launched Academic Commons, a re-designed version of the earlier Digital Commons. The site

“collects, preserves, and makes accessible the scholarship and research of the faculty, staff, and students of Columbia University. The Commons will include articles and monographs, working papers, preprints, technical reports, conference papers, datasets, multimedia creations, and other materials in various digital formats. Content will grow as new communities and collections are added to Academic Commons.”

The site includes links to Columbia dissertations and theses, with full text in many cases. It is possible to browse these by academic dept., by navigating from Browse All Content By >>> Communities/Collections >>> Columbia Dissertations and Theses >>> Dissertations by Dept. (or follow this link).

Coverage for dissertations is from 1997 forward, with some selected content prior to 1997.

Remember also that for dissertations in general, Proquest Digital Dissertations, available through the Columbia Libraries, is a great resource (note: access limited to full-time students, faculty and staff).

New Bach organ composition discovered

On the heels of the discovery of an unknown aria in recent years, German scholars have announced the discovery of an unknown organ composition by J.S. Bach, as reported (in German) here, with a report in English here. The work is a chorale fantasy on the chorale “Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns hält”.

A report here says that the piece will be give its modern premiere in Germany on June 7, 2008, at the Halle Handel Festival, played by Martin Haselböck.